Book Review: Monsieur Linh and His Child by Philippe Claudel

Image

This book blew me away. I don’t know what I was expecting, and I have started this strange habit of not reading the back of books until I’ve finished them, and in a way I’m glad because it really took my breath away.

I was recommended and lent this book by a family member, and I started reading it as I normally do, with several other books on the go. It was only towards the end of the book that I realised I was solely reading Monsieur Linh and His Child. My passion for the book really crept up on me.

This book is so fantastic that I really don’t want to give anything away. All I can say is that you will love it and you will go on to recommend it to others. On the back of this, I have now bought two other titles of Claudel’s, and cannot wait to start them!

Enjoy!

I buy all my books from a little bookshop in Hampshire, called Laurence Oxley’s Bookshop. The address is Laurence Oxley’s, Broad Street, Alresford, SO24 9AW. Image

4 thoughts on “Book Review: Monsieur Linh and His Child by Philippe Claudel

  1. I love a book that “creeps up on you.” I loved the cover so I clicked on your blog to see what you thought and now I immediately want to read this. Thank you for your recommendation!

    • Thanks for your comment, Cassie! So glad to read that you’re following my recommendation – I cannot express how moving the book is. Please comment (if you remember) once you’ve read it – I’d love to know what you think!

  2. Pingback: September 2013 in Books | Boats, Bikes, Baking and Books

  3. Pingback: My October 2013 in Books | Boats, Bikes, Baking and Books

Leave a Reply

