Paris Marathon Training: it’s getting serious

Happy New Year to all!

Smashing my fundraising target

I would first like to say a massive THANK YOU to everyone who donated to Kidscape on my justgiving page. I am blown away by the generosity I have seen from everyone. I have now smashed the 100% mark and gone beyond! Asking for donations instead of Christmas presents definitely helped, though predictably everyone donated AND gave me a present anyway!!

Marathon training begins…

So, it’s now 2013 and I am well into my training! I don’t know how but I did keep it up over Christmas, though I admit I didn’t run on Christmas Eve/ Day.

On Sunday I managed 10 miles, and on the Bupa Marathon Training Plan I was only expected to hit 8 miles – so that’s good! I also managed a personal best of 1 hr 34 mins, which may not sound great to you, but to me it’s a milestone 🙂 I didn’t stop for breaks, either, and did a simple route around Regent’s Park and the Grand Union Canal.

This week I have managed a rest day (big achievement…) on Monday and yesterday I ran 4.4miles in 40 mins. Got another easy 40 mins today, which I will run along Embankment. Treated myself to a trip to Sports Direct to buy a running backpack to make things easier! This January activity will count towards my Janathon training too 🙂

A new personal record

Another personal record I have beaten (thanks to Runkeeper for pointing this out) is that I am now apparently faster… which is always good, I think. I am very close to a 9 minute mile, which is a great improvement! I think that interval training will certainly help, but I’m finding that quite hard as it sets of my asthma a bit…

Anyway, I’m sure this is not that interesting for many of you, but thought I should give an update! Good luck to everyone running a marathon this year and a big shout out to everyone joining me at the PARIS MARATHON!!

2 thoughts on “Paris Marathon Training: it’s getting serious

  1. Congratulations on smashing your fundraising target already. Good luck with the training programme – it sounds like you are making great progress with that too. K x

Leave a Reply

